December 2, 2021

Andrew Katsaros Inspector General, Federal Trade Commission

The Honorable Maria Cantwell Chair, Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation

The Honorable Roger Wicker Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation

The Honorable Gary C. Peters Chair, Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs

The Honorable Carolyn B. Maloney Chair, House Committee on Oversight and Reform The Honorable Rob Portman
Ranking Member, Senate Committee on
Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs

The Honorable Frank Pallone Chair, House Committee on Energy and Commerce

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Ranking Member, House Committee on Energy and Commerce

The Honorable James Comer Ranking Member, House Committee on Oversight and Reform

## RE: REQUEST FOR INVESTIGATION OF THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION'S PRACTICE OF COUNTING "ZOMBIE VOTES"

Dear Inspector General Katsaros; Senators Cantwell, Peters, Wicker and Portman; and Representatives Pallone, Rodgers, Maloney, and Comer,

We, the undersigned, write to you regarding the Federal Trade Commission's use of votes cast by departed-Commissioner Rohit Chopra by e-mail from October 1, 2021 to October 8, 2021. We request an investigation into both this practice and the Commission's lack of transparency.

Nearly one month ago, *Politico* reported that the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) held on to "as many as 20 votes that former Democratic Commissioner Rohit Chopra cast by email on Oct. 8—his last day at the agency—that remain active even after his departure."<sup>1</sup> The FTC claims that former-Commissioner Chopra's votes continued to be valid two months after Chopra's departure from the FTC following his Sept. 30, 2021 confirmation by the U.S. Senate to become Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB).<sup>2</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See Leah Nylan. "'Zombies' to the rescue: The arcane voting rule that could save Dems' antitrust agenda." Politico. (November 8, 2021), available at: <a href="https://www.politico.com/news/2021/11/08/voting-rule-democrats-antitrust-519767">https://www.politico.com/news/2021/11/08/voting-rule-democrats-antitrust-519767</a>.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> *Id*.

To date, the entirety of the votes, the underlying proposals, and the legal basis from which the FTC apparently derives this authority—beyond compliance with the FTC's previously unknown internal voting rules—remain unclear and undisclosed to the public.

Using the votes of Commissioners who have departed from their roles at the FTC and concealing it from the public raises serious concerns regarding transparency and accountability. We therefore seek an investigation to determine the following: 1.) the legal basis for this practice, beyond compliance with internal voting rules; 2.) whether the practice has previously been used, when it was used, and, specifically, if it has been used to break ties; and 3.) information relating to each of the underlying proposals, votes, and relevant motions as well as the FTC's rationale for concealing these specific matters from public disclosure.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Ashley Baker Maureen Blum Director of Public Policy President

The Committee for Justice Strategic Coalitions & Initiatives

Brandon Arnold James Edwards
Executive Vice President Executive Director

National Taxpayers Union Conservatives for Property Rights

Saulius "Saul" Anuzis Theodore A. Gebhard

President Former Senior FTC Attorney
60 Plus Association Office of Policy & Evaluation

Robert H. Bork, Jr. Tom Hebert
President Executive Director

The Bork Foundation Open Competition Center

Ralph Benko Curt Levey Chairman President

The Capitalist League The Committee for Justice

Garrett Bess James L. Martin
Vice President Founder/Chairman
Heritage Action 60 Plus Association

Adam Brandon Katie McAuliffe
President Executive Director
FreedomWorks Digital Liberty

Iain MurrayYaël OssowskiVice President and Senior FellowDeputy Director

Competitive Enterprise Institute Consumer Choice Center

Richard Manning Krisztina Pusok

President Director

Americans for Limited Government American Consumer Institute

Doug McCullough Timothy Sandefur

Director Vice President for Litigation

Lone Star Policy Institute Goldwater Institute

Jessica Melugin Tom Schatz
Director, Center for Technology and President

Innovation Council for Citizens Against Government

Competitive Enterprise Institute Was

Seton Motley Dan Schneider

President Executive Vice President

Less Government The American Conservative Union

Grover Norquist David Williams
President President

Americans for Tax Reform Taxpayers Protection Alliance

NOTE: Organizations listed for identification purposes only.